Feedback
Menu

Home / Search / Supplier

Corner Brook Pulp and Paper Limited

16 records across provincial and federal sources: $139 million in included CAD record values across all years; $393,426 in federal payment and award notice values excluded from this total because these sources can overlap contracts and grants. Listed in Corner Brook. Also printed as: CORNER BROOK PULP AND PAPER LIMITED; Corner Brook Pulp and Paper Ltd.

A flag is a question, not a finding. It is not evidence that anything wrong happened.

$139 millionincluded CAD record values, all years; not total money paid (agreements can span several years)

Awards and contract values are commitments; payments are amounts reported as paid. Sources can overlap, so even included record values are not a deduplicated spending total. What this total includes.

An address selects a federal record; it does not establish where the work, benefit or spending occurred. Whole reported values are shown; no NL share is inferred. Conflicting address fields are labelled. Included reported record values, all years, are not total receipts or a deduplicated spending total. Public Accounts payments and CanadaBuys notices are excluded from the included summary because they can overlap contracts and grants. This does not establish that any individual excluded record is a duplicate.

Scroll sideways for more columns.

Reported values by source, location evidence and currency
Source and evidenceRecordsNative value
Provincial contract awardProvincial reported award or payment value; Provincial records; Provincial reported award or payment value; included. Periods: 7 reported periods; see individual records for dates. These are record dates and agreement terms, not spending years. 0 amounts not stated; 0 published zeros.10CAD 136,525,000.00
Federal grant or contributionReported federal agreement value; NL Ledger has not established work, benefit or jurisdiction; Location review incomplete; latest running agreement value; included. Periods: 5 reported periods; see individual records for dates. These are record dates and agreement terms, not spending years. 0 amounts not stated; 0 published zeros.5CAD 2,041,840.42
Federal transfer paymentReported federal payment; NL Ledger has not established work, benefit or jurisdiction; Location review incomplete; Reported federal payment; Source can overlap contracts and grants. Periods: 2021-22. 0 amounts not stated; 0 published zeros.1CAD 393,426.00

Scroll sideways for more columns.

By source, supported CAD values only
SourceRecordsValue
Provincial contract award10$137 million
Federal grant or contribution5$2 million
Federal transfer paymentexcluded from the total; can overlap contracts and grants1$393,426

Included values make up the headline; excluded values are shown separately and never added to it. Neither column means this body paid these amounts.

Scroll sideways for more columns.

Public bodies named in these records
Public bodyRecordsIncluded valueExcluded value
Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro10$137 million$0
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency1$1.1 million$0
Natural Resources Canada1$492,230$0
Department of Natural Resources1$0$393,426
Transport Canada1$373,889$0
National Research Council Canada2$44,062$0
All public bodies16$139 million$393,426

Scroll sideways for more columns.

Included CAD values by original record year
YearValue
2006$373,889
2009$1.1 million
2020$14,062
2021$5.3 million
2022$3.2 million
2024$38.1 million
2025$38.1 million
2026$52.4 million

Patterns

Largest records

  1. Power Purchase Agreement $52,360,000Flagged: Awarded without competition; Same supplier, sole-sourced again and againAward value
  2. CBPP power purchase agreement $22,000,000Flagged: Awarded without competition; Same supplier, sole-sourced again and againAward value
  3. Power Purchase Agreement $22,000,000Flagged: Awarded without competition; Same supplier, sole-sourced again and againAward value
  4. Co-Gen Agreement $8,700,000Flagged: Awarded without competition; Same supplier, sole-sourced again and again; Descriptions that say almost nothingAward value
  5. Co-Gen Agreement $8,500,000Flagged: Awarded without competition; Same supplier, sole-sourced again and again; Descriptions that say almost nothingAward value
  6. Capacity Assistance for Winter 2025 $7,600,000Flagged: Awarded without competition; Same supplier, sole-sourced again and againAward value
  7. Capacity Assistance for Winter 2025 $7,380,000Flagged: Awarded without competition; Same supplier, sole-sourced again and againAward value
  8. Capacity Assistance for Winter 2021 $3,242,500Flagged: Awarded without competitionAward value
    Provincial contract awardBought by: Newfoundland and Labrador HydroFeb. 8, 2021Rates set by regulator
  9. Corner Brook Pulp and Paper Ltd. - Capacity Assistance for Winter 2022 $3,242,500Flagged: Awarded without competitionAward value
    Provincial contract awardBought by: Newfoundland and Labrador HydroFeb. 7, 2022Rates set by regulator
  10. Secondary Energy purchases for 2021 $1,500,000Flagged: Awarded without competition; Same supplier, sole-sourced again and againAward value
  11. 192035 CAD 1,131,659.00Reported federal agreement value

    Selected because the publisher reports recipient province NL; NL Ledger has not established the work, benefit or jurisdiction from this record; source fields are available below. This is the whole reported commitment or notice value, not the amount paid or an NL allocation.

    Federal grant or contributionGranted by: Atlantic Canada Opportunities AgencyMay 13, 2009Atlantic Innovation Fund (AIF) - II
  12. Market and Product Diversification Study - Phase 2 CAD 492,230.00Reported federal agreement value

    Selected because the publisher reports recipient province NL; NL Ledger has not established the work, benefit or jurisdiction from this record; source fields are available below. This is the whole reported commitment or notice value, not the amount paid or an NL allocation.

    Federal grant or contributionGranted by: Natural Resources CanadaAug. 20, 2021Contributions in support of Investments in the Forest Industry Transformation Program
  13. Contributions in support of Investments in the Forest Industry Transformation Program CAD 393,426.00Reported federal payment

    Selected because the publisher reports recipient province Newfoundland and Labrador; NL Ledger has not established the work, benefit or jurisdiction from this record; source fields are available below. This is a reported payment to the payee, not proof of subsequent spending in NL.

    Federal transfer paymentPaid by: Department of Natural Resourcesundefined 2021
  14. CAD 373,889.42Reported federal agreement value

    Selected because the publisher reports recipient province NL; NL Ledger has not established the work, benefit or jurisdiction from this record; source fields are available below. This is the whole reported commitment or notice value, not the amount paid or an NL allocation.

  15. Youth - Apply Process Engineering Techniques to Improve Process Yields and Identify and Mitigate Potential Environmental Risks. CAD 30,000.00Reported federal agreement value

    Selected because the publisher reports recipient province NL; NL Ledger has not established the work, benefit or jurisdiction from this record; source fields are available below. This is the whole reported commitment or notice value, not the amount paid or an NL allocation.

    Federal grant or contributionGranted by: National Research Council CanadaMay 10, 2021Industrial Research Assistance Program – Youth Employment Program
  16. Technical Feasibility Study into Co-Treatment of Corner Brook Pulp and Paper Mill Effluent with Corner Brook Municipal Effluent CAD 14,062.00Reported federal agreement value

    Selected because the publisher reports recipient province NL; NL Ledger has not established the work, benefit or jurisdiction from this record; source fields are available below. This is the whole reported commitment or notice value, not the amount paid or an NL allocation.

    Federal grant or contributionGranted by: National Research Council CanadaJune 14, 2020Industrial Research Assistance Program – Contributions to Firms

Spot an error? Say so in the box below, or email corrections@nlledger.ca. What to send.

Something missing, wrong or confusing?

Say so here. No account is needed, and no email program. Every note is read.

What people asked for, and what was done

What kind of note is it? Optional

The address of this page is sent with it, so there is no need to say where you were.

Notes are read by the people who run the site. They are never shown on it. Privacy